Owls (Strigidae)

Owls are birds from the order Strogiformes. There are two families of owls – Strigidae or True Owls and Tytonidae or Barn Owls. But, in this section we are going to talk only about Strigidae family.

As we all know, Owls are nocturnal birds, meaning, that they are active during the night. They have broad head, sharp, binocular vision, talons.

An interesting fact about them is that during flight they make negligible sound of flapping wings.

Another interesting thing is that unlike most other birds, their eyes are fixed and cannot rotate. So, their heads are adapted to turn 180 degree allowing the bird to see its back as well.

Some of them are carnivorous and some are omnivorous.

The species we will be talking about here are:-

1. Indian Scops Owl (Otus bakkamoena)

2. Spotted Owlet (Athene brama)

3. Dusky Eagle Owl (Bubo coromandus)

~Arjun Basandrai

One response to “Owls (Strigidae)”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: